Town Office

Our Community




Hanna is part of the Prairie Land Regional School Division #25, headquartered in Hanna.

District Vision

“Small Schools Preparing Students for Big Futures”

Mission Statement

“Each student, upon school completion, will be prepared to continue further education or enter the world of work as productive community members responsible for their own actions and consideration of others.”

Board Office Address: 101 Palliser Trail
Phone: (403) 854-4481

JC Charyk School

Mission Statement

The J.C. Charyk Hanna School encompasses students from Grades 4 to 12. Operating as a single unit, with a wide student age range, our purpose is to assist all students to develop to their full potential by providing organizational structure, programs and climate which address the students’ diverse needs while at the same time promoting and maintaining unity among the entire school.

The progression from childhood through adolescence to adulthood is very critical and sometimes a difficult time. Students are experiencing physical, emotional, social and intellectual changes while they attempt to gain self-identity and achieve peer acceptance. To facilitate this change, some activities in the school will be organized into two components: Grades 4-9 and Grades 10-12; while others will involve Grades 4-12.

Phone Number: 403-854-3642
Address: 801 4th Street West

The organization of the Grade 4-6 components will provide a transition from a homeroom structure with some specialization in Grades 4,5 & 6 to a core subject team of teachers involved with instruction in Grades 7 through 9. Grades 4 – 9 classes operate on a full ten-month schedule.

The Grade 10-12 classes will be taught by various subject specialists and operate on a semester system.

Maintaining an orderly environment with emphasis on learning and high expectations for success will be key features of the J.C. Charyk Hanna School. To achieve this and promote the desire to learn, the school must be a safe place with an atmosphere of mutual respect, responsibility, and trust. All members of the school community, which includes staff, parents and students, will be expected to work towards this goal. 

Education Bursary

In 2007, the Town of Hanna received a bequest from the estate of Mrs. Freda Geuder to establish and award a bursary fund to be known as the pdfFred & Freda Geuder Education Bursary for the benefit of Hanna & District students attending Post-Secondary Educational Institutions.  The bursary is to be awarded to students based on need and academic standing.  

Mr. and Mrs. Geuder were long time residents of Hanna.  Mr Geuder was a businessman, owning Geuder Electric.  Mrs. Geuder was a teacher and active in the community. She served as a member of Council for the Town of Hanna from 1974 to 1980.

Phone Number: 403-854-4433
Address: 202 1st Street West


From 2007 to 2017, the committee has awarded 30 bursaries in the amount of $1,500 each. The recipients have attended schools in Calgary, Edmonton, Red Deer, Lethbridge and Medicine Hat. The chosen fields of study have included education, health sciences, commerce, chemical engineering, computer engineering, dental assisting, kinesiology, new media production, pharmacy, nursing & fine arts.

Recent marks are to be included in all applications. The Committee members encourage all students to apply, even if they have submitted an application in previous years however, students are only eligible to receive the bursary once. The application can be downloaded from the link or from the Forms section of this website and are due on or before September 1st.

2007 Ashley Cheney Medicine Hat College, Health Sciences
Heather Corry University of Alberta, Education
Gina Sprinkhuysen University of Lethbridge, Arts & Sciences
2008 Jaclyn Buchfink University of Calgary, Health Sciences
Bryan Frobb University of Alberta, Biology
Megan Quaschnick Medicine Hat College, Nursing
2009 Dustin Carl NAIT, Computer Engineering
Adam Deadlock University of Calgary, Haskayne School of Business – Finance
Heather Standing Red Deer College, Biology
2010 Andrea Buchfink University of Alberta, Chemical Engineering
Micheala Durand Medicine Hat College, Kinesiology
Shelby Ross University of Lethbridge, Education
2012 Tim Armstrong University of Lethbridge, Bachelor of Fine Arts
Kari Kautz University of Alberta, Bachelor of Education
Dalyn Stevenson University of Alberta, Bachelor of Commerce
2013 Celine Amundrud University of Alberta – Augustana, Bachelor of Arts – Psychology
Courtney Griffith Medicine Hat College, Bachelor of Science – Nursing
Jaiden Henry University of Saskatchewan, Bachelor of Arts – Regional and Urban Planning
2014 Kelly Armstrong SAIT, New Media Production & Design
Delaine Carl Norquest College, Licensed Practical Nurse
James Frobb University of Alberta, Bachelor of Science – Pharmacy
2015 Lindsey Crowle University of Waterloo, Doctor of Optometry
Taylor Grantham University of Lethbridge, Bachelor of Finance
Cassidy Griffith University of Lethbridge, Bachelor of Science
2016 Scott Hunter University of Lethbridge, Bachelor of Arts
Lacey Rose University of Alberta, Bachelor of Science – Kinesiology
Neala-Rea Veno Mount Royal University, Bachelor of Business Administration
2017 Chelsea Knievel Grant MacEwan University, Emergency Communications and Response Certificate
Madison LaClaire University of Lethbridge, Faculty of History & Education
Brenna McGillion Medicine Hat College, Occupational/Physical Therapist Diploma
2018 Brooke Hensel University of Lethbridge, Bachelor of Therapeutic Recreation
Jordan Moench University of Lakehead, Bachelor of Science in Nursing
Kaitlin Wallace University of Lethdridge, Bachelor of Education
2019 Sharanne LaClaire University of Lethbridge, Bachelor of Science in Nursing
Tyson Sabey Medicine Hat College, Bachelor of Nursing
Lindsey Voltner University of Alberta-Augustana, Bachelor of Science

Hanna Learning Centre

The Hanna & District Association for Lifelong Learning (HDALL) is a registered not for profit society, operating as the “Hanna Learning Centre”. It is an umbrella association providing learning and community development opportunities for the people of Hanna and district.

Vision: The Hanna Learning Centre is the hub for learning, individual development and community enhancement.

Mission: The Hanna Learning Centre is a community resource providing leadership to enhance personal and economic growth; community enhancement through individual development.

Hours of Operation:

Monday to Friday 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.  Open through the lunch hour.

Address : Box 1255, 401 Centre St. Hanna, AB T0J 1P0
Phone: 403.854.2099
Fax: 1.866.990.8975
Toll Free : 1.888.854.2099
E-mail :

Address:  401 Centre Street.
Phone:  (403) 854-2099

Continuing Education

The Continuing Education Program through the Hanna Learning Centre offers a wide variety of courses and programs to the community including workplace safety, health, fitness, computer, personal and career related courses.

Phone Number: 403-854-2099
Address: 401 Centre Street

Post Secondary Education

Post-secondary education is available at:

  • Red Deer Community College (located in Red Deer)
  • Olds Agricultural College (located in Olds)
  • Calgary-based institutions.

Educational Resources:

Hanna Municipal Library located in the Town Office Complex
1st Ave & 1st St W
PO Box 878
Hanna, AB 
Phone: (403) 854-3865 
Fax: 403) 854-2772