The first Hanna swimming pool opened in July of 1950 and was nestled alongside the curling rink on 3 St. and 5 Ave. West. The caretaker, M.J.G. McGowan and lifeguards, were contracted. Irene Devereaux, the first lifeguard, who still resides in Hanna recalls the beginning of the pool. The pool was open weekdays every afternoon, evening, and from 2 - 5 PM Sundays.
In the mid - 50s about 1956 - 57 the Hanna Seals Swim Club was formed and still functions today.
On August 7, 1972 the existing pool located on the corner of 3 St. and 3 Ave. West officially opened. At this time the diving tank was installed beside the swimming pool.
New improvements and updated equipment have been made to the pool and the Kinsmen sponsored the nearby wading pool to be installed for the younger enthusiasts.
Text courtesy of The Hanna Herald